Dallas Museum of Art Announces New Officers and Trustees

 Melissa Fetter Succeeds Margot B. Perot as Chairman 

Dallas, TX—June 11, 2015—In elections held recently by the Board of Trustees of the Dallas Museum of Art, Melissa Fetter was named Chairman. Mrs. Fetter joined the Board in 2006 and has since served as Chair of the Development Committee, Chair of Art Ball, and Co-Chair of the Islamic Cultural Initiative, in addition to service on the Executive, Collections, and Learning and Engagement committees. She and her husband, Trevor, have generously supported the DMA since 2005, when they relocated to Dallas from Santa Barbara, California.

Mrs. Fetter succeeds Margot B. Perot, who was named Chairman in 2013. A Museum trustee since 1984, her innumerable contributions include membership on the leadership team of the Museum, serving on the Executive, Collections, Trustees, and Director’s Search committees, as well as having chaired the Collections Committee for five years (2007–2012) and the DMA’s Centennial Celebrations (2002–2003); she also co-chaired the DMA’s Silver Supper fundraising event in 1990. Mrs. Perot and her husband, Ross, have generously supported the DMA for decades. Of particular significance is their named fund from 2003 of the Margot B. Perot Curator of Decorative Arts and Design position, held by Kevin W. Tucker.

Walter B. Elcock continues in his role as President of the Dallas Museum of Art. “As Chairman of the Board, Margot Perot’s commitment to and passion for the Museum have been exemplary and essential to its ongoing momentum,” said Mr. Elcock. “These are exciting times for the DMA, and the entire Board of Trustees and Museum leadership are deeply grateful to Margot for her vital and vibrant stewardship.”

Catherine Rose has been named as Vice President of the Board with Susan Byrne Montgomery serving as Treasurer. Xuan-Thao Nguyen will continue her role as Secretary of the Board.

The Officers Nominating Committee was chaired by Deedie Rose and included Mary Cook, Walter Elcock, Jeremy Halbreich, Marguerite Hoffman, Debra Hunter Johnson, and Catherine Rose.

The following eight individuals were nominated and elected to serve as trustees for a three-year term at the 2015 Annual Board Meeting: Victor Almeida, Lucilo Peña, Kelli Questrom, Gayle Stoffel, Elaine Agather, Barbara Durham, Tom Fagadau, and Carolyn Rathjen. The Committee on Trustees was chaired by Sharon Young.

Those members who, with the Museum’s great thanks for their service, completed their elected terms at the final Board Meeting of the season include:

Yolanda Brooks; Claire Dewar; Jeremy Halbreich; Tim Hanley; Julie Hersh; Marguerite Hoffman; Margaret Jordan; Venu Menon; Tom Morgan; Paul Stoffel; Peggy Sewell; Derek Wilson; Emily Maduro,

DMA League President; Lisa Moore, DMA Forum Co-Chair; Ray Ballotta, DMA Junior Associates Co-Chair; Elizabeth Brush, Junior League of Dallas representative; and Giovanni Valderas, Cultural Affairs Commission representative.

About the Dallas Museum of Art
Established in 1903, the Dallas Museum of Art (DMA) is among the 10 largest art museums in the country and is distinguished by its commitment to research, innovation, and public engagement. At the heart of the Museum and its programs is its global collection, which encompasses more than 23,000 works and spans 5,000 years of history, representing a full range of world cultures. Located in the nation’s largest arts district, the Museum acts as a catalyst for community creativity, engaging people of all ages and backgrounds with a diverse spectrum of programming, from exhibitions and lectures to concerts, literary events, and dramatic and dance presentations. Since the Museum’s return to free general admission in 2013, the DMA has welcomed more than two million visitors, and enrolled more than 100,000 people in DMA Friends, the nation’s first free museum membership program.  For more information, visit DMA.org.

The Dallas Museum of Art is supported, in part, by the generosity of DMA Partners and donors, the citizens of Dallas through the City of Dallas Office of Cultural Affairs, and the Texas Commission on the Arts.