Dallas Museum of Art Announces New Officers and Trustees

Margot B. Perot Elected Chairman

Dallas, TX, June 21, 2013 – In elections held recently by the Board of Trustees of the Dallas Museum of Art, Margot B. Perot was named Chairman. Mrs. Perot is a longtime trustee of the Museum, well known and admired for her passionate engagement for nearly three decades. Her many contributions include membership on the leadership team of the Museum, serving on the Executive, Collections, Trustees, and Director’s Search committees. Mrs. Perot chaired the Collections Committee for five years (2007–2012) and the DMA’s Centennial Celebrations (2002–2003); she also co-chaired the DMA’s Silver Supper fundraising event in 1990. Mrs. Perot has served on the Museum’s Board of Trustees since 1984.

Mrs. Perot and her husband, Ross, have generously supported the DMA for decades. Of particular significance is their named fund from 2003 of the Margot B. Perot Curator of Decorative Arts and Design position, held by Kevin W. Tucker.

Mrs. Perot succeeds Deedie Potter Rose, who retired as Chairman of the DMA’s Board of the Trustees after six years of service in the role. A Museum trustee since 1988, her innumerable contributions include membership on the leadership team of the past two endowment campaigns, and leadership of the Art Challenge with the Hoffmans and Rachofskys from 2001 to 2005.

John R. Eagle, President and CEO of John Eagle Dealerships, continues in his role as President of the Dallas Museum of Art. “As Chairman of the Board, Deedie Rose pursued institutional advancement with passion, intelligence, creativity, and dedication,” said Mr. Eagle. “Her energy, loyalty, and insight propelled the Dallas Museum of Art to a leading American museum, and one that makes a significant difference in our community.”

The Officers Nominating Committee included Mary Cook, John Eagle, Walter Elcock, Vern Faulconer, Jeremy Halbreich, Venu Menon, and Deedie Rose.

The following sixteen individuals were nominated and elected to serve as trustees for a three-year term at the 2013 Annual Board Meeting. The Committee on Trustees was chaired by Sharon Young.
A. Shonn Brown, Mary Anne Cree, Walter B. Elcock, Vernon E. Faulconer, Melissa Foster Fetter, Julie Hawes, Debra Hunter Johnson, William M. (Bill) Lamont, Mark H. LaRoe, Forrest E. Miller, Margot B. Perot, Alden Pinnell, Richard R. Pollock, Howard E. Rachofsky, Catherine M. Rose, and Daniel Routman

Those members who, with the Museum’s great thanks for their service, completed their elected terms at the final Board Meeting of the season include:
John W. Dayton; José M. Gutiérrez; David J. Haemisegger; Mary Noel Lamont; Patrick K. McGee; Jay A. Pack; Judith Gayle Birchfield, DMA League President; Mark Plunkett, DMA Forum Co-Chair; Paige Westoff, DMA Junior Associates Co-Chair; and Michelle Alden, Junior League of Dallas representative.

About the Dallas Museum of Art
Established in 1903, the Dallas Museum of Art (DMA) ranks among the leading art institutions in the country and is distinguished by its innovative exhibitions and groundbreaking educational programs. At the heart of the Museum and its programs is its global collection, which encompasses more than 22,000 works and spans 5,000 years of history, representing a full range of world cultures. Located in the vibrant Arts District of downtown Dallas, the Museum welcomes more than half a million visitors annually and acts as a catalyst for community creativity, engaging people of all ages and backgrounds with a diverse spectrum of programming, from exhibitions and lectures to concerts, literary events, and dramatic and dance presentations. In January 2013, the DMA returned to a free general admission policy and launched DMA Friends, the first free museum membership program in the country.

The Dallas Museum of Art is supported, in part, by the generosity of DMA Partners and donors, the citizens of Dallas through the City of Dallas Office of Cultural Affairs, and the Texas Commission on the Arts.